Site icon Dharma

Visit 12 Jyotirlingas To Seek Shiva’s Divine Blessings

Visit 12 Jyotirlingas To Seek Shiva's Divine Blessings

Visit 12 Jyotirlingas To Seek Shiva's Divine Blessings

Jyotirlingam or Jyotirlinga is an amalgam of two Sanskrit components, Jyoti (radiance) and Linga. It’s a holistic representation of the almighty Lord Shiva or the destroyer. However, according to Shiva Purana or Shiva Mahapurana, 64 jyotirlingas exist in the universe, amongst which 12 are the most sacred ones worshipped by devotees across India. Together, all the Jyotirlingas are known as the Great Jyotirlinga or Maha Jyotirlingam.

Significance of Jyotirlingas

When referring to creation, sustenance, and annihilation, respectively, in Hinduism, the names Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh come combined. Without the holy trinity, which fulfills three distinct yet essential functions to maintain the cycle of birth, life, and death, the universe wouldn’t exist.

Brahma is credited with the act of creation, Vishnu is responsible for providing sustenance, and Mahesh, also known as Lord Shiva, is thought to be the embodiment of the infinite power capable of constructive destruction.

The below video is a soothing story and visual representation of 12 Jyotirlingas and their significance.

Har Har Mahadev.

Feature Image Credit: Pinterest.

Exit mobile version