Did You Know Of Ashtavinayak – The Eight Shrines Of Lord Ganesha?

It is said that we pray to Lord Ganesha before beginning any task for its completion without any hurdles. However, there are eight ancient shrines dedicated to Lord Ganesha in the Indian state of Maharashtra that is considered his “Shaktipeeths.”

The idols in those shrines are considered indigenous, i.e., they have occurred naturally and are not human-created. In Ganesh Purana & Mudgal Purana, the visit to these eight shrines is known as the ” Pilgrimage to the Ashtavinayak.”

These shrines are visited according to the numerical order of their establishments. However, the scriptural position of these shrines is, including:

  1. Moreshwar of Moregaon
  2. Siddheshwar of Siddhatek
  3. Ballaleshwar of Pali
  4. Varad Vinayak of Mahad
  5. Chintamani of Theur
  6. Girijatmaj of Lenyadri
  7. Vighneshwar of Ozhar
  8. Shri Mahaganpati of Ranjangaon

Among them, five Vinayakas reside in Pune. Two are located in Raigarh, and one of them is situated in the Ahmednagar, district of Maharashtra.

Feature Image Credit: Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *